Local Electoral Area Boundary Committees invite submissions

Mr John Paul Phelan T.D., the Minister of State for Local Government and Electoral Reform has established two committees to review local electoral areas and to report to him within six months. The Committees' reports will be considered by the Minister as the basis for the revision of local electoral areas under his statutory powers.

The Committees are tasked with making recommendations on the division of council areas into local electoral areas and on the number of members of council to be assigned to each such local electoral area.

The review of local electoral areas is being undertaken in prospect of the local elections to be held in 2019. The Committees will have regard to the results of Census 2016. The policy objectives of the review are to reduce the size of territorially large local electoral areas and to designate urban-focused local electoral areas around the larger towns.

Committee No. 1 will report and make recommendations on every county, other than Cork, Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown, Fingal, Galway and South Dublin and on Limerick City and County and Waterford City and County. For these Councils the number of councillors will be no less than 5 and no more than 7 for each local electoral area, provided that in particular compelling circumstances 3 or 4 seat local electoral areas may be recommended, where otherwise the geographic size of the area would be disproportionately large.

Committee No. 2 will report and make recommendations on Dublin City and the counties of Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown, Fingal and South Dublin. For these Councils the number of councillors will be no less than 5 and no more than 7 for each local electoral area.

Committee No. 2 may also be asked to make recommendations on the division of Cork and Galway into local electoral areas, in due course.

The Committees now invite submissions on the matters referred to above.

Submissions may be sent by e-mail to boundarycommittee@housing.gov.ie or by post to:

Secretary.

Local Electoral Area Boundary Committees, Room 1.67, Custom House, Dublin 1

to arrive no later than 5:00 p.m. on Monday 19 February 2018.

Please note that all submissions will be made available on the Committees' website and may also be subject to Freedom of Information requests.

Further information on the Local Electoral Area Boundary Committees, including their full terms of reference, is available on www.boundarycommittee.ie or by contacting telephone number 01-888-2769 or 01-888-2031.